What is a Misdemeanor in Ohio
The State of Ohio classifies misdemeanors into five categories: First, Second, Third, Fourth and Minor Misdemeanors. First Degree misdemeanors are considered to be the most serious, and the minor misdemeanor category the least serious. Knowing what a misdemeanor means in Ohio and what each category implies can assist anyone being charged with the same to know what to do.
Unless a particular law in Ohio allows for a specific sentence, each category of misdemeanor has a maximum penalty attached to it. The following is a list of the said penalties:
- First Degree – up to 180- days in jail
- Second Degree – up to 90 days in jail
- Third Degree – up to 60 days in jail
- Fourth Degree – up to 30 days in jail
- Minor Misdemeanor -no jail sentence
Additionally, a court may require a convicted person to pay a fine. The maximum fines are:
- First Degree – $1,000.00
- Second Degree – $750.00
- Third Degree – $500
- Fourth Degree – $250.00
- Minor Misdemeanor – $150.00
In the event a person finds that they are facing any misdemeanor charge in Ohio, they should not take the matter lightly. Even though the crime is not of a serious nature, it could drastically affect a person’s future. A conviction of such a crime may lead to difficulty in securing employment or housing in the future, failure to pass background checks and other problems. It is therefore prudent for an individual facing a misdemeanor charge to seek the services of an experienced and professional attorney. A good example of such a law firm is Goldman & Rosenthal. They have the required skills as well as the expertise to ensure you of obtaining the best possible outcome.